Pierre area local elections set for Tuesday

Hughes and Stanley county residents will head to the polls Tuesday to determine the future of a number of city commission and school board seats.
Source: WLBT
Source: WLBT
Updated: Jun. 8, 2021 at 10:05 AM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

PIERRE, S.D. - A number of local offices are up for grabs today in the Pierre area.

In Pierre, two at-large city commission seats are on the ballot. Incumbent Jamie Huizenga will look to hold onto his seat, while Amy Currie, Todd Johnson, and Lucas Solberg will also vie for one of the two seats. Outgoing Commissioner Jim Mehlhaff opted not to run for re-election.

The Pierre School Board has two at-large seats open, incumbents Dennis James and Randy Hartmann are running for re-election. They are being challenged by Bree Oatman, Paul Gioventti and Lindsey Strofus.

In Stanley County, four candidates will look to fill two at-large seats on the county school board. The incumbents are Shaun Cronin and Kayla Magee. The remaining two challengers are Mitch Kleinsasser and Kevin Carter.

Voting will take place from 7 AM to 7 PM Mountain time in Fort Pierre, and Central time in Pierre.