BACK TO BLAINE! Aberdeen Wings Finish Central Division Final Sweep Of Bismarck

Wings defeat Bismarck 3-1 to finish off series sweep
Updated: Jun. 11, 2021 at 11:06 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

BISMARCK, N.D. (Dakota News Now) - The Aberdeen Wings are heading back to Blaine to defend their 2019 Robertson Cup title.

Unlike their last round with Minot, which went five games, the Wings made sure there would be no drama this time around.

Down 1-0 after a period on the road to the Bismarck Bobcats the Wings scored twice in a two minute span during the second period and never looked back, defeating Bismarck 3-1 to finish off a three game sweep in the best-of-five Robertson Cup Central Division Final series on Friday night.

Will Arquiett’s third goal of the playoffs tied things 13:23 into the second period. Less than two minutes later Jordan Randall scored his first of the playoffs to give the Wings a lead they would never relinquish. Jake Goldowski tallied an insurance marker 5:44 into the third period (his third goal of the postseason).

The Wings are one of four teams to advance to the Robertson Cup Championship and do so for the second straight season (2020 being wiped out by the COVID-19 pandemic). The Maine Nordiques won the Eastern Division Finals and the Shreveport Mudbugs won the South Division Final. The only series undecided is the Midwest Division Final in which the Minnesota Magicians lead the Kenai River Brown Bears two games to one.

Once the final qualifier is determined the four teams will be re-seeded based on their NAHL regular season standings, meaning Aberdeen will be the number one seed as they led the league in wins with 51. The #1 seed will face the #4 seed and the #2 seed will face the #3 seed in best-of-three series beginning on June 18th. The winning teams will then play a one game, winner-take-all championship on Tuesday, June 22nd. All games will be held at the Fogerty Ice Arena in Blaine, Minnesota.

Click on the video viewer for tonight’s highlights!

Copyright 2021 Dakota News Now. All rights reserved.